I left the dough in overnight and I could not wait to get home from work today to throw it in the oven. Shortbread needs to get really golden or it will taste how you described. Honest! Shortbread Bliss! Love these, they are my current go-to give-a-way cookies. They are TDF! Thanks for the recipe. “We put them on a high shelf so we’d forget they existed” Made these today. Perhaps something was lost in crispy cookie texture but it sure was easy and still was darn delicious. 1 tablespoon instant espresso powder. Just wished they looked better. Thank you so much for the recipe and photos! I am afraid to look in my freezer to see just how many kinds of butter…salted and unsalted…that I have right now!! Overall a VERY good cookie and I loved the chocolate chunks to cookie ratio. If only I saw this recipe earlier … going across the street soon for a smorgasbord party. I’m new to baking, and these are so easy to make. For reasons we do not understand (or maybe want to), our store sells this for less than it sells American butter in sticks, thus we use it always. I made these last week with Deb’s toffee recipe from the cookbook – omitted the espresso in the toffee (because I thought it might be too much), chopped up the candy, and added it in place of the chocolate chips. We went overboard and drizzled some leftover chocolate ganache on them when they had cooled. The question about the flour measurement is interesting!! Alison Roman recommended 10 full minutes; I found I could get away with less. Can you speak a bit more to the bake time & temperature? Maybe you have mixed the dough too much after adding the flour? I had to drizzle chocolate over them just to make them taste good…. Thanks Deb! Sorry for all the comments – but I just used the T markers on the Kerrygold package and a stick of butter; I didn’t weigh it. These are more expensive to make if you use the quality ingredients, but hopefully I’ll eat fewer. Cookie Recipes. I use it in nearly everything (and I still a